« Back

The early stages of Alzheimer’s

June 18, 2020 1:41 pm


Alzheimer’s disease is a progressive disease that develops slowly and gradually worsens, usually over several years. It damages memory, thinking-making, language, problem solving, and even personality and mobility as the disease advances. Not all sufferers will have the same symptoms, and the disease can move at different rates for different people, however, there is a similar path that the majority experience as the disease advances.

Phase 1: No Dementia

Initially, Alzheimer’s sufferers do not have memory impairment and no obvious symptoms of dementia. Alzheimer’s disease remains undetected. This initial phase is also called ‘No Cognitive Decline’.

Image credit

Phase 2: Slight mild Cognitive Decline

During this phase, people with Alzheimer’s disease begin experiencing normal forgetfulness associated with growing older. They might forget where they left the car keys or purse. These symptoms are usually not noticed by the individual family members or doctors.

Stage 3: Mild Cognitive Decline

Individuals in this stage experience increased forgetfulness and difficulty with focus or concentration. These symptoms can cause decreased performance for those in the workforce, or for those who do not hold a job, they may experience decreased performance in tasks such as cleaning the common house or paying bills. They may get lost or begin to struggle to find the right words in conversation. Find out more about a dementia Care Home Taunton at a site like https://www.notarohomes.co.uk/care-home/dementia-nursing-care-home-taunton/

image credit

Stage 4: Moderate Cognitive Decline

The fourth stage includes what is medically described as the early stages of dementia. Someone with early stages of dementia will experience more forgetting, forgetting recent events, as well as difficulty concentrating, difficulty with solving problems, and difficulties managing finances.

« Back